Home > Conferences / Events, Mobile > D is for Dongle

D is for Dongle

Vodafone PAYG Dongle

Vodafone PAYG Dongle

My mobile technology adventure continues.  Today was my first day using my new pay-as-you-go Vodafone Dongle, bought yesterday after extensive (ahem!) research.  I plumped for Vodafone over O2, as data usage rather than time seemed to be best suited to my occasional out-of-office-at-some-event use.

I paid £35 which includes 1GB (£15 worth) of data use.  According to Vodafone 1GB will give me 30-hours of browsing.  Today I was online for most of the Futurelab Research Day from 10am to 4pm.  I was mainly twittering, browsing,  making notes in a wiki and sending (web) emails so nothing too heavy.  However, it appears to have only cost me 84p which even allowing for lunch & coffee seems pretty good to me.  The time-based O2 PAYG would have cost me £2 (for 24-hours use).  One of the other things I like about the Vodafone deal is that there is no time limit on using up credit which seems to be common in other deals.

Today I was in London, so as I’d hoped the connection was reliable.  My next Dongle test will probably be on the move, bound for Sheffield,  in a couple of weeks.  As you can see my ‘mobile adventure’ is a slow burner.

  1. Natalie
    May 20, 2009 at 10:02 am

    Hi Matt – I opted for the vodafone dongle a couple of weeks ago for the same reasons as you’ve outlined. It was a bit of an impulse buy, but it’s come in really handy and proved reliable.

  2. May 28, 2009 at 10:57 am

    Hi Matt, thanks for the review 🙂 I am hoping to pick one up this afternoon so I’ll keep you posted!

  3. Andy
    May 29, 2009 at 12:57 pm

    Cheers Matt. Was thinking about these myself but unsure which to go for. Your, eh hem, extensive research is much appreciated 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

